Skip to content

Artist Profile: Jewelry by Irene Storch

May 30, 2011

In our continuing series of artist profiles, we feature Irene Storch and her innovative jewelry.

Please tell us the name of your business and what you create.

The name of my business is Irene Storch Designs, contemporary mixed media jewelry.

Where do you live?

I live in Berkeley.

Give us a little history of how you got into the business. What inspires you? Do you have a day job?

Making jewelry was an extension of my interest in and  practice of the visual arts, particularly painting and drawing. I’ve  made jewelry now for over 20 years.

Describe your creative process when creating your product line.

I love using  ordinary materials and recycling them into jewelry – what is now called upcycling. I’m also drawn to industrial materials and to screens in particular, which often serve as a base or starting ground for my designs. My ideas for the designs usually are dictated by the materials used, or, in other words, the materials inspire the work.

What do you enjoy most about your work? The least?

Playing around with a variety of materials, coming up with new ideas or designs is the most enjoyable aspect of the work. The least satisfying aspect of the work is when I have to repeat designs and  processes to create similar pieces that sell.

I like the contact with customers at markets or fairs  –  their  positive feedback or interest is a great motivation force. I’m  grateful to all my customers for their support.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

