Skip to content

Artist Profile: Dan Warfield Photography

June 5, 2011

This week is the 1st Tuesday Artwalk in Mill Valley, and RooTs feature artist will be Dan Warfield and his amazing “Cuba” photographs – the subject of this week’s artist profile.

Please tell us the name of your business and what you create.

Dan Warfield Photography. I create journalistic and travel photography.

Where do you live?

San Francisco.

Give us a little history of how you got into the business. What inspires you? Do you have a day job?

I’ve been shooting photos since I was a kid. My father owned a photography store on the east coast and inspired me to follow that passion. I’m also inspired by some of the greats like Henri Cartier-Bresson and Robert Frank. In additon to my photography, I own and operate a small digital agency called Tango Studios ( www.tangostudios.com )

Describe your creative process when creating your product line.

I try to capture real life in my photography and show a unique side of environments and people.

What is something unique or interesting about you or the process?

I tend to shoot in a journalist/Leica style with my photography. I think it’s important to move fast but at the same time try and capture the culture of my subject matter.

I’ve been experimenting mounting my photography on wood panels with resin coating. I’m planning to introduce a more artistic range of presenting my work.

What do you enjoy most about your work? The least?

I enjoy meeting and taking portraits of people in various settings. I prefer the gritty side of life. I tend to shy away from the glossy landscapes or touristy imagey.

What have you learned along the way?

I’ve learned to just be yourself and try to gain the trust of people your shooting. It’s important to make them feel comfortable as if the camera isn’t even there.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

