Skip to content

Artist Profile: Villain Accessories

July 18, 2011

This week, our artist profile is Villain Accessories…Don’t let the name fool you – it’s all good!

Please tell us the name of your business and what you create.

The name of my company is Villain Accessories.  I create jewelry from the heart.

Where do you live?

Pleasanton, California.

Give us a little history of how you got into the business. What inspires you? Do you have a day job?

I try to find beauty and light in that which is ostensibly dark. Embalmer and Funeral Director by day, and jewelry designer by night.  I have learned to embrace a life of seemingly disparate worlds.  However, my passion for helping people who are dealing with death lends itself directly to the creative beauty of my artwork, and the two pursuits overlap and interlace to drive one another.

Describe your creative process when creating your product line.

From an idea, an image, an inspiration, I am dedicated to my station.  Once I begin to put the pieces together, 9 hours could pass before I noticed.  There is no real awareness  of time, and I am in the zone until exhaustion or completion of the piece (or occasional blood loss)!

What is something unique or interesting about you or the process?

I am self-taught, with some more formal training last year.  But I am keenly aware of how things are put together.  I enjoy taking pieces apart in a mental deconstruction in order to reverse and teach myself the process.

What do you enjoy most about your work? The least?

I love bringing my pieces to life.  I am creating images in my mind and with a little work and a lot of attention, they become a reality.  Least of all do I like letting my pieces go since each piece takes a bit of me with them.

What have you learned along the way?

Life is precious.  We are given tiny moments to truly appreciate what we have, so we are and what we can provide for others.  If for one moment a piece of my work can make someone feel beautiful or special, I have done it right!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

